Anglican Patrimony in the Catholic Church


Anglicanorum coetibus (Groups of Anglicans, Nov. 4, 2009) is the Apostolic 
Constitution of Pope Benedict XVI that establishes “Personal Ordinariates” for those of the Anglican heritage entering full communion with the Catholic Church while maintaining distinctive elements of their theological, spiritual, and liturgical patrimony.

On January 1, 2012, the Solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God, the Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter was established. Equivalent to a diocese, the Ordinariate is composed of parishes, groups, religious communities, and individuals of the Anglican heritage gathered around the Ordinary.  He serves under the direct authority of the Pope, in partnership with the bishops of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, to build up the Church through mutual mission and ministry while retaining elements of the Anglican patrimony. The members of the Ordinariate include “those faithful, of every category or state of life, who, originally having belonged to the Anglican Communion, are now in full communion with the Catholic Church, or who have received the sacraments of initiation within the jurisdiction of the Ordinariate itself, or who are received into it because they are part of a family belonging to the Ordinariate” (Decree of Establishment, 1).  Joining the new pilgrims may also be the clergy and people of the Anglican Use parishes, who have been the pioneers in the noble work of living out the Anglican patrimony within the Catholic Church. The key to understanding the essential purpose of the Ordinariate is to be found in the preface to Anglicanorum coetibus.  

For more information on the Ordinariates: 

The Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter
The Personal Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham
The Personal Ordinariate of Our Lady of the Southern Cross